Writing 101: Day8 – Having a cup of coffee alone at the local cafe

In the evenings, I meet a group of friends at the local cafe. However,  the Writing 101 challenge prompted me to stroll to the place and spend an hour alone. Reaching the place, I ordered a cold coffee and took a look at the people trying to observe things about them. These are some of the people I saw as I am sure you will see when you visit your local coffee shop.

The happy couple – When you walk into a coffee shop, there will be eager eyes looking up to see whether you are the person he/she is waiting for. A pretty young girl dressed in a floral cotton skirt and a white blouse, waiting for someone, looked up at me the moment I walked in. Her eager glance changed to disappointment when she realized it was not her friend but me. She grabbed her phone and started calling her friend trying to know when he is reaching. Sure enough,in  ten minutes, a handsome young man dressed in a colorful T-shirt and jeans popped in wearing an apologetic smile on his face. They proceeded to have an animated conversation. Even the waiter was having a tough time getting their attention. Ah, the joy and excitement of young love.

The large noisy group – I found a group of people chatting and laughing and enjoying.They were young professionals, a fact I gathered from their formal attire. They were chatting about everything from politics to their office colleagues, laughing at silly jokes and having a good time. They also ordered food which they went on to devour the moment it was served. Thank God for the company of friends after a long day at work.

The pitching salesmen – I noticed these two men dressed in suits even in this blistering heat, making earnest speeches to a very well-dressed middle-aged man. I do not eavesdrop but from the little what drifted to my ears of their conversation, I gathered they were talking about some investment or business deal. The two men in suits were trying to convince the middle-aged man and he was listening to all their arguments. Having worked in the financial industry myself, I recognized some heavy financial terms been thrown around. I could not help a smirk that said I am better off away from all this.

The chubby cherub – What public scene is complete without a baby? There were two ladies gossiping between themselves while a chubby child ran around, first close to them then all over the place. He came near me and gurgled something in his baby language, I smiled at him and he roared with laughter. He talked some more in his own language after which his mother came and took him away to their table.

My cup of coffee being over, I got up and took a last glance around. Except for one of the guys from the big group who was checking me out since I walked in, everyone was busy with their own companions and conversations. I smiled at the guy and left the cafe.

 

8 thoughts on “Writing 101: Day8 – Having a cup of coffee alone at the local cafe

  1. I like this! It’s isn’t too long. Your description of each group/person made me think of people I know who really fit the category. 🙂 Your entry to the day 8 challenge is the first non-fiction one I’ve enjoyed. 😀

    “The large noisy group – I found a group of people chatting and laughing and enjoying.They were young professionals, a fact I gathered from their formal attire.”

    This is a bit funny, since I wrote myself and my friends in to annoying and exaggerated versions of ourselves for my day 8 challenge. 😛 I don’t usually link my posts in comments but it’d be nice if you’d check it out 😀 http://thatgirlfromfriday.wordpress.com/2014/06/13/of-anecdotes-and-late-night-study-sessions/

Leave a Reply

